Municipal Bylaws

A local council (municipal government) in Alberta derives its powers to pass laws through the Municipal Government Act (Act).The Act gives broad authority to municipalities to develop bylaws unique to each municipality.  Councils are expected to act in good faith and in the public interest when creating bylaws. Municipal administration should aim to create bylaws that are understandable, enforceable and accomplish council’s desired goal.

A bylaw is defined as a law made by a local authority in accordance with the powers conferred by or delegated to it under statue. A municipal bylaw is no different than any other law of the land, and can be enforced with penalties, challenged in court and must comply with higher levels of law.

The most commonly referred to bylaws within Legal are listed below. A full inventory of Legal's municipal bylaws can be found here.


Commonly Referenced Bylaws    
Animal Control Bylaw #01-2017 Municipal Development Plan Bylaw #06-2013 Tax Penalty Bylaw #05-2016
Assessment Review Board Bylaw #03-2019 Noise Bylaw #52-92 Traffic Bylaw #01-2012
CAO Bylaw #05-2011 Nuisance And Unsightly Bylaw #07-2011 Utility Installment Pay't Plan Bylaw #07-2016
Community Services Advisory Board Bylaw #05-2007 Off Site Levy Bylaw #01-2008 Water Bylaw #12-2019
Emergency Management Bylaw #05-2019 Permit Fee Bylaw #04-2008 Wastewater Bylaw #11-2019
Fire Bylaw #02-2009 Snow Removal Bylaw #01-1997 Waste and Recycle Collection Bylaw #10-2019
Fireworks Prohibition Bylaw #06 2015 2020 Tax Levy #09-2020 Establishment of Municipal Library Board Bylaw #01-2019
Land Use Bylaw #05-2013 Tax Installment Pay't Plan Bylaw #08-2019  


Contact the Town Office to inquire about any current or historical bylaws.


Press enter to search