Local Elections

2021 Election

The Town of Legal will be holding a municipal election on Monday, October 18, 2021.

General municipal elections are held every four years. Town of Legal voters elect five Councillors to a four year term. Each year during the organizational meeting the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor are appointed. 

When a vacancy occurs, a by-election is held if there is more than 18 months before the next general election.


Nomination Period

Nomination period opens: Monday, January 4, 2021

Nomination period closes: Monday, September 20, 2021 at 12 noon

Nominations for Councillors will be accepted at the Town of Legal Office (5021 50 Street, Legal) from Monday, January 4, 2021 until 12 noon on Monday, September 20, 2021. Should you wish to submit a nomination package, you must make an appointment with the Returning Officer at 780-961-3773.

Information for Candidates

The Local Authorities Election Act (as amended) governs municipal elections in Alberta. It sets out rules and regulations for candidates, donors, electors and election administrators that must be followed before, during and after an election.

Candidates are encouraged to develop a working understanding of all legislation concerning elections, including nominations, eligibility, campaigning restrictions, campaign finance and disclosure, election offences and prohibitions at voting stations.

If you are considering running for Council and would like more information, please click here to review the Town of Legal Candidate Information Package.

Additional resources:

Alberta Municipal Affairs - Elections Website

Alberta Queens Printer 

Alberta Urban Municipalities Association

Local Authorities Election Act

Municipal Government Act

Election Day

Election Day is Monday, October 18, 2021.


Centralta Community Centre

5111 46 Street, Legal


10:00 am until 8:00 pm


Town of Legal elections are regulated by the Local Authorities Election Act.

Voter eligibility and identification requirements will be posted in advance. 


Press enter to search